Jump directly to the page contents

Open Science in Helmholtz

Digitization opens up the opportunity for science to change the way it handles data, information, and knowledge.

In Helmholtz, the term open science, outlining a cultural change in scientific working methods and communication, is defined as follows:

"The open – meaning impeded by as little financial, technical, and legal obstacles as possible – access to scientific results such as publications, research data, and research software expands transparency in academia, improves quality assurance procedures, and through improved supply of information increases the productivity of academia. Open science thus always also serves the improvement of good scientific practice. Furthermore, open science fosters knowledge transfer into society, economy, and politics."

Our Mission

The mission of the Helmholtz Open Science Office is to promote the cultural change towards open science. The office, established by the Helmholtz Association in 2005, sees itself as a service provider that supports the community in shaping the cultural change towards open science. The Helmholtz Open Science Office is a partner of all stakeholders involved in this process within Helmholtz.

Guided by the motto "Enabling open science practices in Helmholtz!" the Helmholtz Open Science Office works within the Association and promotes the visibility of Helmholtz on a national as well as international level within the context of Open Science in the spirit of the Helmholtz mission.

In order to promote Open Science at the Helmholtz Centers, the Helmholtz Open Science Office fosters the exchange with stakeholders in science, administration, and service institutions, such as libraries, data, and computing centers. Regular workshops, lectures, discussions, and publications provide information on the opportunities and challenges of open science.

Enabling open science practices in Helmholtz!

Direkt zum Seiteninhalt springen

Open Science in Helmholtz

Die Digitalisierung eröffnet der Wissenschaft die Chance eines Wandels im Umgang mit Daten, Informationen und Wissen.

In der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wird der Begriff Open Science, der einen kulturellen Wandel in der wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsweise und Kommunikation umreißt, wie folgt definiert:

„Der offene, d. h. durch möglichst wenige finanzielle, technische und rechtliche Hürden behinderte Zugang zu wissenschaftlichen Ergebnissen wie Publikationen, Forschungsdaten und wissenschaftlicher Software erweitert die Transparenz in der Wissenschaft, verbessert die Verfahren der Qualitätssicherung und erhöht durch eine verbesserte Informationsversorgung die Leistungsfähigkeit der Wissenschaft. Open Science dient somit immer auch der Verbesserung der guten wissenschaftlichen Praxis. Darüber hinaus fördert Open Science den Wissenstransfer in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik.“

Unsere Mission

Die Mission des Helmholtz Open Science Office ist die Förderung des kulturellen Wandels hin zu Open Science. Das von der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft 2005 etablierte Office versteht sich als Dienstleister, der die Gemeinschaft bei der Gestaltung des Kulturwandels hin zu Open Science unterstützt. Das Helmholtz Open Science Office ist Partner aller an diesem Prozess beteiligten Akteure innerhalb von Helmholtz. 

Unter dem Motto „Enabling open science practices in Helmholtz!“ wirkt das Helmholtz Open Science Office in die Gemeinschaft hinein und fördert die Sichtbarkeit von Helmholtz auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene im Bereiche Open Science im Sinne der Helmholtz-Mission.

Um in den Helmholtz-Zentren für Open Science zu werben, fördert das Helmholtz Open Science Office der Dialog mit Stakeholdern in Wissenschaft, Administration und Serviceeinrichtungen, wie Bibliotheken, Daten- und Rechenzentren. In regelmäßigen Workshops, Vorträgen, Diskussionen und Publikationen wird über Chancen und Herausforderungen von Open Science informiert.

Enabling open science practices in Helmholtz!